Elected Officials

The mayor and city commission serve as the governing body of the City; they set policies and rules by which the City is operated, including establishing City goals and target issues, as well as setting City tax rates.

Terms of office for all seats are two (2) years, and there are no term limits. The mayor is considered to be a “leadership mayor”, whose role includes presiding at city commission meetings, serving as the ceremonial head of the government, serving as the official head of the City for executing legal documents. The mayor is not considered a “strong mayor” because the position has no veto power and represents only one vote on the city commission.

Regular city commission meetings are typically held once a month to conduct city business and provide citizens with an opportunity to participate in the government process. In addition, the commission meets for workshops on specific issues. To view the commissioner zone map click HERE.


Mayor
Cameron Lane
Phone: 386-747-2038
clane@lakehelen.org
(term ends 2023)
Zone 1 Commissioner
Heather Rutledge
Phone: 386-361-7258
hrutledge@lakehelen.org
(term ends 2023)
Zone 2 Commissioner
Roger Eckert
Phone: 386-748-6413
reckert@lakehelen.org
(term ends 2022)
Zone 3 Commissioner
Rick Basso
Phone: 407-467-2771
rbasso@lakehelen.org
(term ends 2023)
Zone 4 Vice Mayor
Jim Connell
Phone: 321-436-4557
jconnell@lakehelen.org
(term ends 2022)

City Commission Meetings are held at City Hall at 7:00pm on the second Thursday of each month (unless otherwise noted).
City Hall is located at 327 S Lakeview Drive, Lake Helen, FL 32744 .

*some links open to an external page

If you are considering running for office, you must become acquainted with the relevant Florida election laws and the city of Lake Helen City Charter which may have a bearing on your campaign or qualifications to run for office. For more information contact the Director of Administration.

Dominique Drager
Director of Administration
Deputy City Clerk
386-228-2531
ddrager@lakehelen.org